PREVIOUSLY: Welcome to HOllywood

A short film released in 1999, Ewan McGregor is the sole cast member in Desserts. A man strolling down a deserted beach happens across a chocolate éclair lying the sand.

This short is less than five minutes long, it’s been uploaded to YouTube more than once, and I would not dream of spoiling the twist for you. Watch it. This is cinema. I’m honestly not sure if I’m joking.

I didn’t see the twist coming at all, and it has truthfully been a long time since I’ve been surprised by a movie like that. I’m not sure what I was expecting, but it wasn’t that. That was nice, to get got. It could easily have been a pretentious “really makes you dink” short, but I felt the tone made it more of a Yakov Smirnoff punchline. Or maybe I have a sick sense of humor. I laughed. I’m not proud, but I laughed.

This easily makes the top three things I’ve watched so far for this.

COMING UP NEXT: STAR WARS: EPISODE I – THE PHANTOM MENACE

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started